Historical Campus Tour

Danforth Campus

Seigle Hall

Seigle Hall

Centrally located across the great lawn from Olin Library, Harry and Susan Seigle Hall is a dynamic, interdisciplinary learning center for the College of Arts & Sciences and the School of Law. The Departments of Economics, Political Science, and Education reside here. Former U.S. congressmen and senators periodically teach courses on politics and the inside workings of Congress. In the Department of Economics, Murray Weidenbaum, the former chairman of President Reagan's Council of Economic Advisors, and Douglass C. North, the 1993 co-winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, are faculty members.

Noted for its well lit, airy hallways and glass-encased stairwells, the building named for alumnus and philanthropist Harry Seigle and his wife, Susan is a recent addition to campus. Designed by Kallman, McKinnell and Wood Architects, the Hall was constructed ahead of schedule by the St. Louis-based firm Tarlton Corp. and dedicated on September 25, 2008, in a ceremony presided over by Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton and Professor North.

A LEED Certified building, Seigle Hall incorporates a variety of environmentally friendly measures intended to minimize water usage and conserve energy.

Seigle Hall is the first academic building on the Danforth Campus to be named for an alumnus living outside of St. Louis. Harry Seigle, who earned a bachelor's degree in political science from Washington University in St. Louis in 1968, and Susan Seigle reside in Chicago.

The following are housed inside Seigle Hall:

Location on Campus Map

View wustl.edu in a larger map