The Samuel B. and Charles B. Edison Theatre is located inside Mallinckrodt Center. The theatre was dedicated on Oct. 12, 1973 in memory of Samuel, the husband, and Charles, the son of Sayde G. Edison. Sayde G. Edison was the primary donor for the construction of the theatre. It was designed by Smith, Entzeroth, and Robert Vickery. The Edison Theatre is known in many architecture circles for its unique design. Edison Theatre shows many student and professional performances throughout the year. The picture to the left is of the Washington University Madrigal Singers at the dedication of Edison Theater.
In 1922, Samuel B. Edison founded the Edison Brothers Stores along with his four brothers, Irving, Harry, Mark, and Simon. The first store exclusively sold women's shoes. They named the first store was named "Chandler's", a name selected from a phonebook, to protect the Edison name in case the store failed. That store was a success and they began founding additional stored. In 1929, the company went public and moved from Florida to St. Louis. Later, the Edison Brothers founded a number of other stores and expanded into clothing.