Washington University in St. Louis is a leader in a variety of fields through our path-breaking research and exceptional academics.

The university is led by Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor-elect Andrew D. Martin, Provost Holden Thorp, the Board of Trustees and the University Council.

Throughout its century and a half, only 14 chancellors have led Washington University.


Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton is primarily focused on the high priority areas of development and international programming. He carries out all ceremonial duties of the chancellor, including Commencement, and serves as the university’s representative on boards and with partner organizations in St. Louis and around the world. He will conclude his tenure as chancellor on May 31, 2019.


Andrew D. Martin

Appointed Washington University’s 15th chancellor by the university’s Board of Trustees in July 2018, Andrew D. Martin is responsible for all day-to-day operations as the university’s chief executive officer. As chancellor-elect, he leads approximately 13,000 faculty and staff and 13,000 students, and oversees a total operating budget of $1.8 billion.


Provost Holden Thorp works to improve the university community by establishing university-wide initiatives for curriculum, diversity and global outreach. As chief academic officer, the provost oversees teaching, learning, scholarship and research across the university.

Board of Trustees

Led by Chair Craig D. Schnuck and composed of 50 leaders from various professions, Board of Trustees members work in committees and serve as the chief governing body of the university.

University Council

The university’s senior leadership advises the chancellor and is composed of divisional academic deans and leaders from Alumni & Development Programs, the Office of the General Counsel, the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research.